Home Page
Missoula Iris Society Newsletter - January 2012




Here is the newsletter for the new year. 2012 will be another banner year for the Club and I personally look forward to a new start and have all this hassle of the holidays behind me. Looking forward as well to some warmer weather sooner than later and being able to get outdoors more and getting some exercise.


Pete Addeo,  Webmaster
Missoula Iris Society



DATE & TIME: SATURDAY, JANUARY 7, 2012 AT 6:30 P.M. Usual potluck supper followed by the meeting.
PLACE: Home of Pete and Carol Addeo, 5805 Helena Dr in Linda Vista area - Phone 251-5833 for directions.
Discussion of Budget for 2012.





New officers have been elected and begin their term at the January meeting.  They are:

Ed Verplancke, President
Betty Ann Gustafson, Vice President
Cindy Davis, Secretary
Swede Gustafson, Treasurer

Meeting Locations for 2012...
If anyone would like to host a meeting at their home, please call Carol Addeo, 251-5833.  Hosts are needed for the Eagles Lodge in Feb. and Mar.  Host homes are needed for May, September and November.

2012 Meeting locations are:

Sat Jan 7, 2012 - Home of Pete & Carol Addeo
Sat Feb 4, 2012 - Eagles Lodge (host needed)
Sat Mar 3, 2012 - Eagles Lodge(host needed)


Bring your favorite photo of Iris and win a prize!!!!!!  Photos can be anything picturing Iris; ex:  single iris, clumps of iris, iris gardens, bouquets or arrangement of iris, etc.  Iris photo must be taken by members of MIS. Entry is one photo per member. Photos need not be matted or framed.

Judges will be all attendees at the February 4th meeting. Voting will be by paper ballot.  1st place and 2nd place prizes will be awarded.  Come and have fun whether you have a photo or not!  For additional information, contact Betty Ann Gustafson at 251-3526.

It's Their Birthday!!....Let's Give 'Em a Cheer!!!

Happy birthday to Carol Addeo, January 2nd and Barbara Riley, January 24th. Have a happy birthday all.


                The ending balance for 2011 is $589.53

                With the deposit of $70 in memberships in December the ending balance for 2011 is $11,750.29

           MEMBERSHIPS RECEIVED THIS FALL INCLUDE -:  Pete and Carol Addeo, Dorothy Alcaraz, Larry and Kim Ashwell, Bob and Claudia Brown, Scott Burns, Drake, Gary Clark, Ronn Dunn, Fred Frey, Billie Gray, Betty Ann and Swede gustafson, Steve Hesla, Delane Langton - for 2012 and 2013, Ernie Lucero, Ed and Anita Verplancke, Elizabeth Huston,  Hiedi Martin

The following are paid through 2012 - John Schroeder, Jenny Baker, Christine Gresham, Laurie Kammerer, Misty Pepperock, Lorene Nordstrum, Barbara Lee, Melodee burreson, Jay Salmonson, Charles Hiigel, Jeff Smith, Thomas Robinson.

            If your name is not in either of the two lists above, you need to pay your membership by the end of February to continue receiving the newsletters.

            The Executive Board met in December for the purpose of reviewing the dollar amount allotted to each category of the 2012 expense budget. Several modifications were proposed which will alter the 2012 budget.  These will be discussed at the January meeting so please plan to attend to hear and join in a discussion regarding these modifications.  A full report of the board meeting will be available at the meeting.

            The 2011 Treasurer's financial records were closed as of December 19, 2011.  These records will be reviewed in January by the Auditing Committee at a date to be set at the January meeting.

                Respectfully Submitted,
                Swede Gustafson, Treasurer